Disclaimer: Ads appearing on this Blog are not monetized or put up on purpose for commercial gain but are displayed by WordPress (Probably since this is a FREE Blog)

Today’s Pindapata (alms round) ❤️

Greetings Kalyanamittas,

Hope you are well

Today’s Pindapata near Kahagolla Aranya Senasana Diyatalawa, Srilanka …almost made my eyes fill with tears, out of Gratitude n love ❤️ for the people of Srilanka.

I had read somewhere that Buddha says for Monks that its better to eat “Hot iron balls” that to live on alms food and live heedlessly. It probably acts like a “catalyst” and make Monks and nuns work harder towards Liberation.

What made me so moved today is people were stopping from their vehicles and offering the food that was probably packed as lunch while they went to work and yet people were so generous.

Pindapata although may be the worst form of Livelyhood (according to the world) but provides great opportunity for people to make merit while the sangha is on alms round.

I also remember very fondly while in India going on Pindapata while I was in front of a humble house an old lady probably with long hair locks with Vibhuti smeared on her forehead saw me in front of the door of her house🚪 and she exclaimed ..Shiva Shiva!!!

Then she asked us wait while she went in and came out and asked us to step inside the house while she got probably her only lunch of Ragi balls with some curry and respectfully offered and while she pour inside the bowl she kept a humble portion and said that’s for herself…

Sometimes I exclaimed to my Uppajaya while I was a Samanera and said I have only heard Shivali Mahathera being renowned for receiving Gifts but I am kind of experiencing here with you when our Kappia had bags filled with Gifts from people in Tripura,North East India.

Apart from Maitri and Karuna sometimes we can’t help but rejoice in Mudita to see the great acts of Kindness of very humble people.

I wish every being supporting us on the Alms round or any other way get Millions of times in return, may they get all comforts of Life and perhaps even greater may they all make an end to all suffering by realising Nibbana!!!

With Gratitude n Love ❤️
Bhikkhu Ariyananda


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started